The Balance Broken

The Balance:

He stands in the shadows, dressed head to to in white, almost angelic in his stature and grace.

“Come to me my right hand.”

Glancing over his shoulder towards his king, he leaves the shadows and takes to his knee in dutiful respect.

“You have served me well, now it is time to collect your reward; your eternal reward…”

Peering through his long golden fringe he sees the blade falling towards him like a guillotine, unflinching he holds his nerve. The blade draws ever closer yet still he doesn’t more.

The sword severs him in two…

“Come to me my right hand.”

Glancing over his shoulder towards his king, he leaves the shadows and takes to his knee in dutiful respect.

“You have served me well, now it is time to collect your reward; your eternal reward…”

Peering through his long golden fringe he sees the blade falling towards him like a guillotine, unflinching he holds his nerve. The blade draws ever closer yet still he doesn’t more.

Then, suddenly he stops the blade with a mere finger, it was as if the blade was nothing more than a butterfly that had just landing gently.

“Bahahahaha. Magnificent! How many battles have I won by your single hand? Tell me Atalante, how many has it been?”

His head stays down, but once again his eyes pierce through his golden fringe and lock on to the king with a fierce glare.

“All of them my lord.”

Subtle Betrayal:

A familiar sound echoes from my herald, I await his council to see what delight awaits me.

Horror…

I was greeted by an attempt at humour, but the message was clear, I had been betrayed. I ask not for the world, but simple loyalty from those who I have tried to help and do right by, sadly I am often met with disappointment and this time was no exception.

My soldiers, my troops, my brethren…. Slowly, one by one, they all left me and were swept from the board; all but two that is. My Knight and my Queen were all that was left, loyal until the end.

It makes me sad to think that all I sacrificed for them was for naught, in the end I was left without an army.

Worst of all, they had defected to the castle that banished me. Swayed by warmth, comfort and empty promises, the weak has been unmasked.

The ultimate betrayal is not to be stabbed in the back, it is to be deserted.

Leave a Reply

