Bitter Sweet Irony

Suddenly I became frozen in time as the world around me continued to move at a lightning pace. I was paralysed by what I had seen, my heart stopped. Reality came crashing down and I was surrounded by a crushing and bitter truth.

Feelings of elation, joy, passion began to boil over but those feelings were not alone. Loathing, hate and disgust lay on top of them like a think layer of oil sitting on the surface of the sea. I found the distasteful irony almost too much to bear, resulting in a jaded laugh of which no one would ever understand.

Once the initial rush of emotion subsided there was nothing left but a harrowing feeling of emptiness, it was as if someone had seen a light creeping from under a door that should not have been opened, peaked inside, turned out the light and closed the door forever so that no one else would have to witness the monstrosity that lay behind it.

I take comfort in knowing what I know. Yea, it’s enough.

Leave a Reply

