Three Wise Men

I walked past three homeless men today. They were talking about their time in the army, this caused me to stop and sit on a bench while putting my music on silent so I could listen in.

The more I listened, the more I watched people go by and utter profanities about them.

Now I have no idea if they really were ex service men of not, but I decided to walk in to Tesco making slight eye contact and then walking past them, waiting to hear what they would say because they thought I could hear them.

“Have a good day.” And a smile was what I got from them. Overcome with emotion, I made a choice, I had no cash so unused my card to buy them lunch.

Why?

I don’t know I just did. I went back outside with sandwiches and each one of them looked at me with a truly thankful look.

Something as small as a sandwich seemed to mean a great deal to them. I don’t know the real reasons why they were on the street, but I spent £3 on 3 sandwiches, it’s not a lot in the grand scheme of things. I could have wasted £3 on something meaningless and crap just as easily, why not waste it on people who seem to need it?

I would like to think if I was in their position they would have done the same.

We all want money, but what is the value of money if you can use it to make people smile?

2 thoughts on “Three Wise Men

Leave a Reply

